Snow Day Dish Soap Experiment


Being home on a snow day gets me in “cleaning mode.” After sanitizing my kitchen and washing dishes, I noticed I was almost out of dish soap. I decided to try making my own after reading some ideas and recipe tips in my aromatherapy books and essential oil support groups. After fiddling around with recipe quantities and ingredients, I found one that I really like! Normal dish soap dries out my hands, so I used essential oils and a castile soap base for extra skin nourishment. I also used all natural and fair trade ingredients in place of the harsh chemicals that can be found in popular dish soaps.

Why the particular ingredients listed below:

* castile liquid soap- Castile liquid soap is a vegetable-based soap that is not synthetic and safe for even the most sensitive hands. I have very sensitive skin, and I can only use certain brands of dish soap without having an allergic reaction to the added dyes or artificial foaming agents. It is often very difficult for me to find suitable dish soap, so I usually give-in and give-up, buying whatever, and using gloves. (I HATE using gloves). I used Dr. Bronner’s pure-castile soap, baby-mild. It is great for sensitive skin and leaves your hands nourished, not rough. You can read about the product here: http://www.drbronner.com/customer-service/faqs/

(Also, it took quite a bit of searching to find the ingredients in my old dish soap. Here is what I found out- chemicals, dyes, and ingredients I can’t pronounce versus those listed below. Don’t get me wrong, my old dish soap really cleaned dishes, but I was searching for a more natural alternative for my sensitive skin).

Dawn Dish Soap Ingredients
Dawn Oxi Citrus Dish Soap Ingredients

* distilled white vinegar- Distilled white vinegar is a safer, chemical-free alternative for cleaning. It gives your dishes a “squeaky clean” feeling, cutting some of the oil from the castile soap. You can read about white vinegar here: http://www.heinzvinegar.com/products-distilled-white-vinegar.aspx

* lemon essential oil- Lemon essential oil is naturally disinfectant and antibacterial. It is a great alternative for a safer, chemical-free cleaning agent. Because it is mixed with the castile soap, the castile acts as a carrier oil for the lemon essential oil, thus making it a non-irritant for those with the most sensitive skin. It also makes the finished product have a pleasant aroma!

* wild orange essential oil- Wild Orange essential oil is also naturally antibacterial, and it’s aroma is screaming with sweetness. It definitely overpowers the white vinegar and acts as a natural fragrance for the dish soap.

* glass bottle- Storing your dish soap in a glass bottle is a safer and more environmentally friendly alternative to plastic. Essential oils are powerful and have the ability to react with the ingredients in certain plastic bottles, causing harmful toxins to be released into whatever is stored inside them. Citrus oils can definitely cause plastics to deteriorate and turn gummy. Just to be safe, I used a glass bottle.

Here’s what I mixed up:

Materials:

* 1/2 cup castile liquid soap
* 1/8 cup water
* 1/8 cup distilled white vinegar
* 20 drops lemon essential oil
* 20 drops wild orange essential oil
* one glass bottle

Process:

Mix all ingredients together, adding in the order of materials listed above. Adding the wild orange essential oil last is also for aroma to cancel out the smell of the white vinegar. You may use more or less than 20 drops of the wild orange essential oil, depending upon your preference to the soap’s finished aroma. Give the bottle a few shakes to mix up, and you now have your own homemade, dish soap!

2 thoughts on “Snow Day Dish Soap Experiment

  1. I have just decided to make my own dish soap as well, and your recipe sounds pretty much like what I had in mind! 🙂 Although I’ve been buying non-toxic cleaning products for many years, it’s time to switch to homemade 😉

Leave a Reply

