“Gatsby? What Gatsby?”


“It was one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in your life.”

I have always felt compassion for animals, especially the ones that have been tossed or abandoned. Never have I taken one home…until this last Friday.

It all started last week when I thought it would be like any other ordinary day. On my short drive to pick up Megan, I spotted this gorgeous tuxedo cat just sashaying around a dumpster. Parking the car first, I sent a series of short-ended texts to Megan that read: “Here… Cat… Outside now! Third dumpster.” Any other normal human would think these were ramblings of a madman, but I knew Megan understood even the oddest
of beings. This was confirmed as she strolled down the lot to meet my new found treasure, whom I knew had been around my own home recently (He looked quite familiar, flea collar and all). The cat was still by the dumpster, preparing to continue his meal of delectable rotted sandwich, when we came back that evening with cat food. Asking everyone around and looking for owners for a solid week, it was confirmed this little tux had no one to dress up for. After one week, we spotted him again, flea collar and all, and took him to the vet. This declawed, neutered male would certainly not have survived the harsh Ohio winter in store for us this year. Our guess is someone dumped the old sport, leaving him defenseless and to fend for himself.

Muddied fur, scraggly complexion, and bone-thin body, this little two- year- old cat is truly a Gatsby rags to riches story.

Welcome home, Gatsby. Your whiskered smile won me over. Now comes the task of flea prevention, quarantined in a separate room, and introduction of my cat Luna to new brother, Gatsby. Lavender and lemongrass essential oils are indeed coming to the rescue and helping to ease the task of cat assimilation. I couldn’t have asked for a better product to have on hand during an unexpected event such as this.

IMG_8668.JPG

Leave a Reply

