“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”


Paulo Coelho’s words have been resonating with me today. I can’t help but wonder what the Universe has in store for me.

Jeremy and I have been so surprised lately with how events have been aligning themselves for our Seattle trip. I get tingly feelings every time I think about going there. It’s like we were meant to explore that particular area. We shouldn’t be so surprised. It’s a lesson we both need to learn that events have a way of lining themselves up when you least expect it.

I have been waking up, two days in a row now, dreaming about Nonna’s house. Last night, Jeremy and my mother and I were sitting around Nonna’s kitchen table taking shots of Italian Sambuca, with three coffee beans, laughing, and using the liqueur as a way to honor her. The shots were almost ceremonial. It made me miss her even more when, upon waking, I realized that I really wasn’t sitting at her kitchen table at all. More importantly, the taste of Sambuca alone woke me up! Whew! Hello anise-flavor, like straight black licorice but without the Halloween! This is NOT October…although… her passing in October always has me thinking about that holiday whenever a memory of her rises. It has been 10 years since she’s walked this earth in her human form. I know she still watches us. In fact, tradition has it, that a shot of Sambuca before a long travel, especially with coffee beans, promotes health and happiness and prosperity. As a family, we normally take these shots for periods before long travel, after a death for safe travel, and to honor a marriage.

“The most iconic serving of Sambuca is a shot with seven coffee beans, representing the Seven Hills of Rome. Likewise, a shot with one coffee bean, called ‘con la mosca,’ which means ‘with the fly,’ is as common. When served with three coffee beans, each is said to represent health, happiness and prosperity; or the Holy Trinity. The shot may be ignited to toast the coffee beans with the flame extinguished immediately before drinking.”

Oh…and Sambuca is flavored with essential oils. 🙂 Even Nonna knows how much I love my oils.

Thanks for the sign, Nonna. We’ll see you in Seattle.

Peace. Love. Light.

image

Leave a Reply

